Reckless Driving

Reckless Driving – Vehicle Code 23013(a) and 23103(b)
Accused of reckless driving?  Call 916-546-8052 for a free consultation to discuss your case.

 Reckless driving in California is defined as driving “upon a highway in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of the persons or property.”  Reckless driving can occur on a city street, or even in an off-street parking lot.  Reckless driving is always a misdemeanor under California law.

Typically reckless driving is charged when the driving rises to a level considered so dangerous as to the put the public in significant danger.  Often, but not always, California Highway Patrol officers will not charge a person with reckless driving until they see three separate vehicle code violations, with speeding, following too close, and an unsafe lane change being the most common.

Additionally, if the driving causes an accident and someone other than the driver is injured, the penalties are increased.

The penalties for reckless driving vary depending on the facts.  The possible consequences for a violation of 23103(a) and 23103(b) are:

  1. Three to five years summary (informal) probation,
  2. Not less than 5 days nor more than 90 days of jail time,
  3. Fines from $145 to $1000 before penalties and assessments,
  4. Possible license suspension by the court under Vehicle Code 13200 for 30 days, 60 days, or six months,
  5. Two points on your driving record.

Not all penalties need be imposed in every case.  We may be able to get the case amended to a different charge with lesser penalties, or dismissed entirely.  Even if convicted, We will be able petition the court to reduce your sentence to the minimum possible under the law and ask the court to give you a restricted license for 90 days to six months to allow you to drive to and from work.  If no plea deal is appropriate, then we can then set the case for trial, preparing to fight the case in front of a jury.

If you or your loved one has been arrested or cited for any reckless driving charge, do not hesitate to contact us at 916-546-8052 immediately to discuss your case.  Protect your rights and get the best possible outcome available.  Our firm handles these cases all over California, including in Sacramento, Yolo, Placer, El Dorado, Sutter, San Joaquin, and Nevada Counties.

Additional Resources

California DMV – Reckless Driving